This article describes the default options for sharing a file within the Microsoft 365 (M365) environment.
There are several options available to you when you need to share a file with another individual. Listed here are the default options and what they mean.
- People you specify can edit: Only the individuals (or Outlook groups within your organization) added to the list of message recipients will be able to access and edit the file. This does not affect preexisting access for any other individual but will overwrite any preexisting access for the recipient. The individuals can be internal or external to Virginia Tech. In addition, this link will not expire.
- More Settings – Can edit: Anyone who receives the link can edit the document.
- More Settings – Block Download: You are unable to block the download of this document with this default configuration.