This article provides instructions on how to delete a Google shared drive.
Shared drives and their contents have no “ownership”. The roles (Viewer, Commentor, Contributor, Content Manager, or Manager) define who and what you can do with a file or folder. Your role can be different for each file and folder within the drive. For example, you can only have View permission on a folder, but actually be a Manager for a file within the folder. As a result, it is conceivable that there are files/folders within a share drive that you do not have edit access to. Without this, you cannot delete them.
Because of this, it is not possible to delete a non-empty shared drive or non-empty folders within a shared drive. Therefore, to delete a shared drive you must (in order)
- Be assigned to the Manager role for the files, folders, and drive to be deleted. files and folders can be deleted by other roles, but the drive can only be deleted by someone assigned to the Manager role.
- Navigate to https://drive.google.com/drive/shared-drives
- Open the shared drive you want to delete
- Delete all files within a folder
- Delete all empty folders
- Wait. If you have a large number of files and folders to be deleted, it can actually take time for them to be deleted on Google's servers. While this is happening, Google prevents the shared drive from being deleted. So, if you have an empty shared drive, but still can't delete it (see next step), come back later and try again.
- Delete the empty shared drive (only a member of the Manager role can do this)
- Click the name of shared drive at the top to open a drop-down menu
- Select Delete shared drive from drop-down menu
- Confirm you want to delete this drive by clicking Delete shared drive in the pop-up that appears
Google Workspace Program Search Term: GWP