Sharing your screen in Google Meet


Introduction

This article describes how to present information in Google Meet. There are three methods of presenting: sharing a browser tab, sharing an application window, and sharing your entire screen. You can start presenting before you join the meeting or during the meeting

Contents

Preparing to present before joining the meeting

Presenting during the meeting

Sharing a browser tab

Sharing an application window

Sharing your entire screen

Instructions

Preparing to present before joining the meeting

Regardless of your role as attendee or host, you can prepare to present information before you join the meeting.

  1. Click Present before you click Join now.

  2. Choose to present your browser tab, entire screen, or application window.

  3. Click Share.

Presenting during the meeting

If you wish to present information during the meeting, 

  1. Click the ellipsis in the meeting toolbar.

  2. Choose A tab, A window, or Your entire screen.

Sharing a browser tab

You can choose to present only the browser tab contents by selecting Tab when choosing what to share in a meeting. When sharing a browser tab, only the part within the light blue box is visible to meeting participants. This is the best choice when the content you want to share is in a browser tab and you aren't switching content.

Sharing an application window

When the content is a desktop application and you aren't switching content, it is best to share just the application window. You can choose to only share an application window by selecting Window. From there, you are presented with a dialog to choose which application window to share.

Sharing your entire screen

When the content location varies and you might need to switch between content locations, it is best to share your entire screen. If you know you need to do this, however, prepare by minimizing or closing non-essential information. This will help ensure that you do not accidentally share sensitive or private information. You can choose to share your entire screen by selecting Entire Screen. From there, you are presented with a dialog to choose which screen (if you have multiple monitors) to share.