Transferring folders between a Google My Drive and a Google Shared Drive


Introduction

This article describes the limitations between transferring folders from a personal Google My Drive to a group-accessible Google Shared drive.

Instructions

This feature is disallowed by Google by default because folders do not have ownership properties and therefore are not, strictly speaking, associated with an account. It becomes difficult to move them from one account to another, and Google has not yet implemented a workaround. Virginia Tech's policy is to maintain this default setting for security and confidentiality reasons.

Our recommended process to move content within folders is to either